author remove search highlighting

posted: 2 Oct 2007 17:13

Brian Tulley

United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi Martin/all,

I have a computer at work that is linked to a Printer which uses a paper roll about 3 to 4 feet wide (so no sticking bits of A4 together!).  However, the computer doesn't have Templot installed (and the men in black wouldn't let me load it up anyway).

My question is this:  Could I save a Templot track file at home then bring it to work to print out? (the computer at work has a CD reader; emailing a file to work wouldn't work because emails with attachments don't get past the Firewall). Thanks.

p.s. I'm a Templot newbie so please write any answers in small words!

Brian.

posted: 2 Oct 2007 17:30

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Brian Tulley wrote:
My question is this:  Could I save a Templot track file at home then bring it to work to print out? (the computer at work has a CD reader; emailing a file to work wouldn't work because emails with attachments don't get past the Firewall). Thanks.

Hi Brian,

The answer is a small word:  dxf  :)

If you have a wide-format printer at work you almost certainly have a CAD program of some sort driving it, and all such programs can read DXF files.

Templot can export your track plan as a DXF file. Take to work. Print. Simple? :)

More information: http://www.templot.com/martweb/gs_dxf.htm

Read all the Help notes on the DXF dialog. Be sure to set it for 2D output if you are only wanting to print it. The file will be very significantly smaller.

n.b. make a note of whether you are exporting in mm or inches. You will need this information when you open the file at work. If you are not sure which you need, take two files, one of each.