author remove search highlighting

posted: 18 Jul 2012 20:48

acoake

Morpeth - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hello
I wonder if anyone can help me to design curved double junctions using the new half-diamond facility? I'm still learning Templot and while getting most things sorted out (with much trial and error), I'm not getting good results on my first curved double junction. I've included the current box file to show how I've attempted it so far and the results (not inspiring). Not being a PW expert, I'm not sure of the correct way to go about it and this may be adding to my problems. Any help would be much appreciated. By the way, the overlapping circles at the top are not a mistake - they are my attempt to represent a helix, which I am using to transfer from level to level.
Many thanks in anticipation
Allen Oakes
Attachment: attach_1472_2025_helixtop_2012_07_18_2022_16.box 490

posted: 18 Jul 2012 21:29

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Hi Allen,

Before discussing double junctions -- are you sure your 46mm track centres spacing is sufficient clearance for your rolling stock at these radii?

I just did a quick check on your plan using the default vehicle sizes in the dummy vehicle tool, and it's looking too close for comfort:

2_181616_140000000.png2_181616_140000000.png

The usual spacing for 4mm scale at these radii would be 50mm centres.

regards,

Martin.

posted: 18 Jul 2012 22:58

acoake

Morpeth - United Kingdom

Hi Martin,

Many thanks for your very quick response. I used 46mm because I think I picked it up fom one of the many books I have read on building model tracks. However, I believe that I can increase it should it be necessary. I was going to use the tools you provide, but only after I had got something approaching a reasonable plan.

Allen Oakes

posted: 21 Jul 2012 23:18

acoake

Morpeth - United Kingdom