author remove search highlighting

posted: 28 Jul 2012 04:38

Mark C

Fort Myers, Florida - USA

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Folks,

I am a novice to Templot and am interested in Y Turnouts for a compact American HO shelf switching layout based on John Allen's Timesaver Puzzle, see below. Obviously, this is not prototype inspired.

2480_272315_180000000.png2480_272315_180000000.png

For anyone interested, Google "John Allen Timesaver" to get learn more on this fascinating concept.

I have not yet gone through the 2001 tutorial and your 2008 update for building Y Turnouts. In the meantime, I have created a trackplan using HO NMRA #4 model turnouts instead., see screenshot below.

2480_272320_040000000.png2480_272320_040000000.png

I'm sure I have made a lot of mistakes in this design, but it looks like it should work. Attached is the Box file for this trackplan. Any advice on how this could be improved would be appreciated.

Any advice on how to get started with a more accurate rendition of the Allen's Timesaver trackplan would also be appreciated.

Is there any news on when Symmetrical Y Turnout Templates might be included in Templot?

Thanks.

Mark C
Attachment: attach_1477_2036_timesaver_ho_no4_2012_07_27_0345_52.box 293

posted: 28 Jul 2012 12:57

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Mark C wrote:
Is there any news on when Symmetrical Y Turnout Templates might be included in Templot?
Hi Mark,

Sorry, there is no news on this at present. It requires a significant rewrite of a large chunk of the generator.

For not much real gain, because in truth symmetrical Y-turnouts are really quite rare on the prototype, at least in the UK.

At present they can be created using the methods in this ancient tutorial:  

http://www.templot.com/martweb/y_symm.htm