author remove search highlighting

posted: 27 Jan 2013 19:55

dharma66

United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi,
Firstly, apologies if this is not the correct forum for these questions...
I'm just getting into rail modelling, though I do have a fair amount of experience modelling other subjects.
Right from the start, I wanted to model my local station, which was demolished when I was two years old. The station was a branch of the LYR from Middleton Junction to Middleton. I've spent about 6 months on research so far (having no previous knowledge of railways), and over that time, my ambition has grown somewhat. I'm currently thinking I'll be modelling in 2FS with hand built permanent way. This will be a very long term project, involving kit and scratch building locos and stock, and, first thing, fitting out my garage as a suitable space. The garage refit is actually progressing, and I've acquired a couple of donor chasses for locos, so I'm starting to think it may actually happen...
Ideally, I want to model as close to prototype as is absolutely possible.
This is the prototype layout. It's upside down, because thats the way it will be built, with the top if the image butting up to the garage wall.
2632_271434_550000000.png2632_271434_550000000.png

Of the four lines that run out at left, the central two are the actual branch lines up to the Junction, and the outer two are headshunts for the yards, and terminate within the blanked out white triangle.
At scale size, from the middle of the large crossroads at right, to the end of the headshunts at left translates to 16 feet. The space I have is only 18 feet, and I will need some fiddle yard at left. Probably a minimum of five feet?