Templot Club Archive 2007-2020                             

topic: 2342Help With First Track Plan
author remove search highlighting

posted: 12 Nov 2013 10:31

Chris Dark

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi all, I am very new to the world of handbuilt trackwork and Templot, I have decided to stop designing my 18X4ft peco code 75 layout in favour of a 8x4ft P4. I have made this decision as I feel I would gain more satisfaction, plus the fact is is more achievable project.

I have come up with a design which gives me some usability but I would like some help/advice on some of my track settings:

Firstly the points at the far end of the run-around loop look far too long. I had drawn up a rough plan in Scarm to give myself an idea of layout which I then sketched over. Can somebody explain how I can shorten the points but keep the curve of the track?

My second question is how to add a straight piece of track. I created a separate piece by adding a branch from an existing point then moving using the f7 command and snapping onto the end of another piece. But I can't get any closer to be straight then visual.

I have attached the plan as I hope this will help to answer my queries, also please feel free to offer advice on any other areas that I haven't done properly. Like I said this is my first ever Templot design so expect that I have made unrecognised errors along the way.

Thanks
Attachment: attach_1685_2342_8ft_box.box     377

posted: 12 Nov 2013 13:51

Jim Guthrie

United Kingdom

Chris Dark wrote:
Firstly the points at the far end of the run-around loop look far too long. I had drawn up a rough plan in Scarm to give myself an idea of layout which I then sketched over. Can somebody explain how I can shorten the points but keep the curve of the track?