topic: 2398Printing The Background Tracks
author remove search highlighting

posted: 5 Feb 2014 11:05

Clive Essery

Eastleigh - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hello guys, this is my first post on this forum.  I decided to try and produce my plan on my own without bothering you guys with stupid beginners questions but have now hit an impasse.  My background is that I am retired after 40 years of software development, which of course includes some CAD work.  I thought I would eventually manage to produce something.
Well I have succeeded in that area but I see that I am going to get a rollicking like Andrew - having built my track plan on an existing (but modified) map without practicing all of the features first.  I guess I used only the basics of Templot and because I landed up doing a lot of rework, I have probably not done it the most efficient way.
I couldn't for example get the move group to work properly so landed up moving my goods yard a template at a time many times as I moved it around the design.
The issue that I have at the moment though is that I have managed to print out the background templates on my second attempt - my first produced nothing after 10 hours! but the background shape that I was working to has not printed.
To be able to fully determine whether I have met my design aims, I need to see both the "original" and the trackplan on top of it and study it for a few weeks.
Is there a way to get the background shape (picture) in my case printed?  I thought I had clicked the right options but apparently not.  At some stage I will also need to decide where to cut the design for transportation as the intention is to produce a 2mmFS exhibition layout so I will need to draw the board edges and thickness too.
Many thanks, Clive Essery

posted: 5 Feb 2014 11:48

Raymond

Bexhill-on-sea - United Kingdom

Hi Clive,