topic: 2514Playing video tutorials
author remove search highlighting

posted: 20 Aug 2014 06:45

Ade

A Village In Vaud, Switzerland - Switzerland

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Please move this if I'm posting in the wrong place.

The videos found here are all Windows EXE files. Why is this, please? It's a real pain in the proverbial to try to run these on a Mac, even with Crossover. I appreciate that there is no intention to make a Mac version of Templot itself, but why oh why does it have to be so difficult to access the training materials?

I really, really like Templot and  - as a software developer myself - appreciate very much the efforts of Martin to create and maintain this (let alone provide support), but why does it have to be so difficult to access the tutorial videos?

[/rant]

Thanks!

posted: 20 Aug 2014 07:00

Matt M.

Australia

Hi Ade.

In what way are these a pain to use?
I run Templot in Bootcamp on a Mac.
The videos run in a web browser without problems.
They also run on the Mac side in Safari or any other browser.

Martin is gradually updating the videos for various sections
in FBR format. I haven't had a chance to try the most recent.
But all have worked as advised so far.

Regards, Matt M.

posted: 20 Aug 2014 09:49

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Ade wrote:
The videos found here are all Windows EXE files. Why is this, please? It's a real pain in the proverbial to try to run these on a Mac, even with Crossover. I appreciate that there is no intention to make a Mac version of Templot itself, but why oh why does it have to be so difficult to access the training materials?
Hi Ade,

At the time of the first public release of Templot in 1999, Windows was the utterly dominant OS on home computers. Having produced software for Windows only, it didn't seem unreasonable to provide support material for Windows only.