topic: 2632Can I build this ?
author remove search highlighting

posted: 11 Feb 2015 18:02

TPP

United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
I keep coming up with ideas for my model railway but when I come up with something simple I realise I just don't want that really - and If I was to do something simple why not just go Peco ?

I know what I really want but the whole thing is just frightning !

This is what I want - I have never built track before, can barely open and close Templot ( at the moment )

But I am not stupid - I am good with my hands - and I can be dedicated 

Here is the problem - I want to build something very like this ( but not an exact replica and shortened to fit my space ) - I have a room dedicated to this that is 16' long and 7 feet wide

Anyway - here it is ...

The original drawing
http://www.thepurpleprimer.co.uk/templot/ramsgate/ser_harbour_station_1872_rotated.jpg

048008b0.jpg048008b0.jpg

Ramsgate_Harbour_railway_station.jpgRamsgate_Harbour_railway_station.jpg

sands%20station%20ramsgate.jpgsands%20station%20ramsgate.jpg

otherway.pngotherway.png

I need it mirrored for my room's location though - like this ...

mirrorstation.jpgmirrorstation.jpg

Is this even remotely possible or should I put the whole thing out of my mind ?

posted: 11 Feb 2015 23:05

Nigel Brown

Fascinating! Certainly worth thinking about. I'd suggest start by working out what you want for your maximum length of train, which would tell you how much space you need for storage sidings (cassettes or a traverser might be worth thinking about to save space) and should also tell how long your platforms need to be. Add a bit for the turntable and add all that up and it should tell you how much space you have left for the station throat.

Nigel

posted: 12 Feb 2015 01:16

Nigel Brown

Came across this plan:
528_111958_290000000.jpg528_111958_290000000.jpg