topic: 273Milling Crossing Vees
author remove search highlighting

posted: 2 Dec 2007 16:27

Charles Orr

Leicester - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
I am seeking advice on the best way to mill my own crossing vees.

I am not an engineer and have been using the Portsdown Models jigs to create the vees for my Templot designs.

However I recently purchased a Proxxon MF70 milling machine and am now keen to mill my own crossing vees.

What do I need to hold the rail so that the correct angles can be milled?

How do I calculate the angles to mill?

Where on the rail do I mill the angles?

I am a complete beginner in the use of milling machines :(  and  would welcome any advice, the more basic the better. :)

best regards

Charles

posted: 3 Dec 2007 19:54

Brian Lewis

United Kingdom

Hi Charles,

So its no more vee orders from Charles Orr? (Sob).

I could tell you how I make them, but the Proxxon will not have the  power to do what I do and anyway, I mill in batches of around 400, so what I do is hardly appropriate.

But I can happily advise on the angles, (RAM), and these are:

4   14.036
5   11.310
6   9.462
7   8.130
8   7.125
9   6.340

Accurate enough I think, but you can work these out for yourself using the formula

RAM angle = arctan(1/N)  where N is the required ratio.

Regards

Brian Lewis

Carrs -- C+L Finescale.
http://www.finescale.org.uk

posted: 4 Dec 2007 01:12

Charles Orr

Brian Lewis wrote:
So its no more vee orders from Charles Orr? (Sob).
Hi Brian

I felt certain that it would be you who replied first :cool:.

Thank you very much for the angle info - that's a start at least. 

I shall of course still continue to purchase whatever else I need from you as indeed I did at Warley on Saturday :D.

No more hints then?

Best regards

Charles

posted: 4 Dec 2007 01:53

Brian Lewis

United Kingdom