author remove search highlighting

posted: 15 Sep 2015 11:36

rynd2it

Chabanais 16 - France

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hello,
I'm just getting started with Templot which is clearly a very powerful tool indeed, probably more than I need. I'm trying to create a track plan of Faringdon (GWR) as close to full size as I can. I've scanned in the background having shortened it a bit to fit and started laying track.
I've run into a few areas where I need clarification (it must be me, not the tool) and I'd appreciate some input.
a)   I read that the recommended starting point is to lay plain track and then add turnouts to it and not build the plan from small pieces. However after adding some plain track to the turnout road, I can't now bend the end of it to start the next curve. So should I shorten the straight track to the point of beginning the curve and then add a curved piece or is there a way to curve (or bend) around a midpoint (or other location)?
b)  Is there a way to "snap" one piece to another so that they line up correctly with correct sleeper spacing?
c)  How do you move the ruler? It only seems to display in one place and I need to move it to different locations?
I realise this is basic stuff but 5 minutes of explanation is worth about two hours of experimenting. I can attach my box *& bgs files if that will help
Thanks
David

posted: 15 Sep 2015 14:24

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

rynd2it wrote:
a) after adding some plain track to the turnout road, I can't now bend the end of it to start the next curve. So should I shorten the straight track to the point of beginning the curve and then add a curved piece or is there a way to curve (or bend) around a midpoint (or other location)?

b)  Is there a way to "snap" one piece to another so that they line up correctly with correct sleeper spacing?