Templot Club Archive 2007-2020                             

topic: 2781Advice for a virgin trackbuilder!
author remove search highlighting

posted: 9 Nov 2015 22:11

Jubilee42

Rødovre - Denmark

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hello everyone
I have decided to build my own turnouts on my proposed 4mm OO-SF LMS (MR) layout  with plywood sleepers and pcb under the vee (frog).

I am totally new to this and nobody nearby (in Denmark) builds track!

I have spent the last months getting to know Templot, and have now decided that the time has come to take the plunge and actually build something!

Here is the plan for the turnout I am going to try:

3033_091632_110000000.jpg3033_091632_110000000.jpg

There are all sorts of challenges with it for someone like me. For a start, there's a slight curve, and also the turnout worked best as a B-6.75. I have bought jigs from scalefour, but they only do the whole numbers. I am hoping I can file a size 7 and then file it to fit. It's not that I am really concerned about - no doubt I will be when I make it!

The questions I'd most like help with are these:
1. Is the pcb/plywood construction combo in any way sensible? I've arrived at it because with plywood I can use proper chairs but with pcb under the vee I can fix this solidly (also I can't work out what chairs I would use to hold the vee). I realise that this might give me height problems on the un-chaired pcb, so the plywood sleepers are1.5mm thick and the pcb 1.6

2. What chairs do I need to fix the check rails in place? I have already bought slide and normal Midland 4-blot chairs from c+l , but am confused about how to fix the all important check rails. Do they sell the required chairs?