Templot Club Archive 2007-2020                             

topic: 2872New to Templot - am I on the right lines?
author remove search highlighting

posted: 27 Apr 2016 21:06

RK

United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hello,
I've put a couple of small O gauge layouts together in recent years, one using Peco track and points, the other using Peco track and Marcway ready-to-use point work. I'm now about to start on my big long term layout and have decided to take the plunge and have a go at hand-building all the scenic trackwork. Now this is something I've never done before, so I'm hoping somebody may be able to help and give me some guidance.

I've used Templot to draw out the track plan and make sure everything works, I'm lucky in having a large area to use, fortunately. But before I start spending time on the detailed aspects and actual building, would anyone be prepared to look over the Templot file for me and check for any major mistakes I may have missed?

Its things like: will signals fit between adjacent tracks, and whether coaches may catch on curves etc.. There are a few places where I have used diamond crossovers to represent double or single slips (or simply crossed straight tracks to represent crossings) because I'm not sure how to achieve slips, as yet.

Any help and constructive comments would be welcomed.

Rich

Edit: Added Templot File
Attachment: attach_2266_2872_160416-Marsh_Lane_Yard_Ver2.box     357
Last edited on 27 Apr 2016 21:15 by RK
posted: 27 Apr 2016 21:58

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Hello Rich,

Welcome to Templot Club. :)

You have some close-spaced sharp curves there for a main-line layout in 0 gauge. For example the inner curve here is under 4ft-6in radius.

Templot has a dummy vehicle tool for checking clearances, and unfortunately as you can see you have some significant conflicts on these curves: