topic: 2922Image Size
author remove search highlighting

posted: 6 Sep 2016 09:01

Julian Reynolds

Christchurch - New Zealand

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi I am new to Templot and slowly working my way through the tutorials and videos  I am trying to load a background image of the Dulverton Station but keep getting the following message when attempting to save my work.  The scanned image is 3.89mb as a jpeg but 297mb as a bmp image.  Am I just trying to load too much Data?  I fortunately have a son who is good with Photoshop so if this is the issue expect I can get this resolved.
Many thanksJulian
3169_060357_550000000.png3169_060357_550000000.png

posted: 6 Sep 2016 12:05

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Hi Julian,

Welcome to Templot Club. :)

Thanks for posting a nice clear screenshot. That is a message from the system, not from Templot. When I write error messages I try to be a bit more helpful and make suggestions to avoid the problem. :)

Your image must be heavily compressed in the JPG file to go from 297 MB in the bitmap down to only 3.89 MB in the file.

It is the bitmap size which Templot has to deal with internally after expanding the file, and 297 MB is on the large side of normal expectations. Your screenshot shows it to be 20513 x 5076 pixels.

There are several things you can try. The obvious one is to resize it in Photoshop to a smaller size. If you reduce it to say 33%, 6838 x 1692, that would reduce the bitmap size 9-fold to 33 MB which would almost certainly be ok. You would lose some of the image detail in the process, bit probably not enough to affect the track design process.