topic: 3145Templot for Australian 0n2.5 - getting past novice stage
author remove search highlighting

posted: 3 Dec 2017 01:47

Mark Stafford

Macedon Victoria - Australia

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Mark Stafford is my name. I hail from Macedon. Macedon is next to the Bendigo railway line here in Victoria Australia and it seems to me I have been interested in model railways since before I was born, I guess that is just like most of us. I’m a retired IBM systems architect so I am a little bit familiar with computers though I can make a mess of anything given enough time.

Anyway, I model or should I say try to model the VIctorian Railways Narrow Gauge line that ran from Colac to Beech Forest and then on via a branch extension to Crows circular 1925. I am particularly focused on the section from Gellibrand to Beech Forest.

It has taken me years and years and years.....to build or have built the models that I need as you see when I started there were no manufacturers that I could go to and just buy what I wanted or had to have to get over the line. I started in S scale first but all my railway stuff was destroyed in 1983 when the Ash Wednesday bush fire decided to clean up Macedon and the surrounding area, my place included. Just after that some enterprising fellow decided to have quite a few On2.5 Na locos constructed, so, even without having enough spare cash I order one. Realising that it may well prove impossible to get another later on I change my order to two. Needless to say I didn’t tell the other half. If the truth be known I didn’t want to tell myself as seriously I didn’t have the money at the time. Very scary doing stuff like that. But in hind sight I am so glad I did it. I might add that at the time it was a long long time before anything else became available, but that is a whole story that could send you to sleep with ease.