topic: 3532Tramway track
author remove search highlighting

posted: 23 Oct 2019 17:39

ikcdab

Taunton - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
I have used templot quite a lot and i think i am moderately familiar with its use. Its a great package and hugely useful.A friend has asked me to show him how to template a "tramway point with the turnout road of 8" radius". This is in 4mm so roughly 200mm radius.
I can see how to change the crossing angle, the minimum seeming to be 1:4. this is much more than the 8" (200mm) he desires.
I wonder if this is possible in templot as i wonder if points like this are prototypical. Maybe what he wants is more set-track. i have little knowledge how street tramways designed their track.
Any comments would be useful!
Thanks

posted: 23 Oct 2019 18:15

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

ikcdab wrote:
I can see how to change the crossing angle, the minimum seeming to be 1:4. this is much more than the 8" (200mm) he desires.
Hi,

The shortest crossing angle in Templot is 1:1.5

Please can you say where you got the 1:4 figure from? There may be an error in the notes somewhere which I need to correct.

Templot doesn't know anything about tram track, because neither do I. :)

The quickest way to create something tram-like is to use a gaunt turnout, and set the gaunt offset to zero:

2_231304_300000000.png2_231304_300000000.png

Those settings are at template > gaunt options menu item (bottom of the menu).

You didn't specify a track gauge, so I assumed 16.5mm. I then found that a crossing angle of 1:2.38 (curviform) created your desired 8" radius.

The .box file for the above is attached below.