topic: 3613comments please on my new OO "final" layout
author remove search highlighting

posted: 16 Feb 2020 22:20

ikcdab

Taunton - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
All, so here we are. I remember reading many years ago of someone  building  layout called something like “my last great layout” and I marveled at the time about the finality. But now I find myself doing the same thing.
I am to build a new shed, 7.5m x 4.5m in our garden. In this will build my best OO layout yet. In simple terms it is a double track oval with two branches, one double track to a reasonable sized station, the other single track to a simpler one. It will be based on BR(S) practice in the 1960s..ish.
I am not a novice and have been building railway models for many years. In the last few years I have built two end-to-end terminus to fiddle yard layouts. Both used templot and the track was built with SMP for plain line and copper clad soldered bullhead pointwork. I am very happy with both and I have learnt a lot, the second layout is much better technically than the first!
I am not looking for slavish prototype fidelity but I want something that looks good and feels like the real thing.
This jpeg is a general overview.1588_161717_090000000.jpg1588_161717_090000000.jpg
The attached box file shows where I have got to so far and I would welcome comments on the templot side of things. Please note that I have not really tackled timber shoving yet on this plan. That’s for later.
Turnouts are B8s throughout but with C10s on the two mainline junctions. This feels right to me but I am open to other suggestions.