posted: 21 Mar 2008 23:16

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
In the file uploaded in this topic:

topic 379

I noticed that Raymond is using the 0-XF standard (31.0mm). I now believe this to be flawed, and I'm minded to remove it from Templot. I would suggest changing to 0-SF instead (31.2mm). For more about this, see:

http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/7mm/message/35046

and a lot of discussion about the current 0 gauge standards at:

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=281000#p281000

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=281534#p281534

regards,

Martin.

posted: 22 Mar 2008 02:48

Brian Lewis

United Kingdom

I would ask you to consider leaving 0-XF in  your portfolio Martin. I certainly do not agree that 31.00 mm is, as you put it, 'flawed'.

My own 40 foot 0 gauge layout is 0-XF and I have 8 years experience in building and operating to this gauge. There are limitations - a B7 is in reality the minimum turnout that will ensure faultless operation; wheels should be of a standard similar to Slaters, but that is it - there are no more constraints.  Minimum radius curves? Using normal 32mm track provides instant gauge widening.

We should not forget that, in my estimation, there are as many folk modelling in 31.0mm as there are in Scale 7. So we can hardly dismiss it. A small matter perhaps, but 31mm track gauges are instantly available - to my knowledge nobody makes gauges for 31.2mm.

31.2mm allows for trackwork inaccuracies and also the use of wheels cast to wider profiles. Neither are very good reasons.

Regards

Brian Lewis

Carrs - - C+L Finescale.

http://www.finescale.org.uk

posted: 22 Mar 2008 03:33

Martin Wynne

Brian Lewis wrote:
I would ask you to consider leaving 0-XF in  your portfolio Martin. I certainly do not agree that 31.00 mm is, as you put it, 'flawed'.
Hi Brian,