author remove search highlighting

posted: 26 May 2008 17:46

phileakins

Swanage - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi all.

As a complete TEMPLOT beginner I decided to try it all out by designing (using pug 0.91.c) a simple shunting plank.  However, after a couple of false starts,  I got carried away and the 'plank' is now 15 feet long and 2 foot 6ins wide!

As it's S7 I needed to save space where I could or there would be no space in the house to errect it, so in the middle is this curved double slip which I offer for your comments.

I didn't quite follow the sequence in Martin's video as I found it easier (after altering the switch of the turnout based on the curved diamond and saving a copy) to attach the turnout to the peg, MCP or TCP as appropriate, and then manipulating it by swapping/inverting the hand until it obviously lay on the diamond in the right position.  Once there making the slip road was easy and guranteed to be right.  I say this after making numerous mistakes and getting some very weird slips, incliding those in which the switch blades were outside the point entirely.

Anyway, here it is.

Phil

Attachment: attach_276_444_Double_slip_group_08_05_26_1206_14.box 660

posted: 26 May 2008 21:25

Phil O

Plymouth - United Kingdom

Hi Phil

I have had a look at your double slip and I see that your bottom slip road has minimum radius of 43" which scales out at 2.34 chains this will only be suitable for 0-4-0 locos and short wheel base or bogie wagons. Is this what you have in mind for using on your layout?

Cheers Phil :)

posted: 26 May 2008 22:51

Jim Guthrie

United Kingdom

phileakins wrote:
I say this after making numerous mistakes and getting some very weird slips, incliding those in which the switch blades were outside the point entirely.
Phil,