topic: 994Is it feasible?
author remove search highlighting

posted: 19 Dec 2009 15:22

Raymond

Bexhill-on-sea - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
The attached file contains a fiddle yard that I am unsure would work, but if it does, would give me greater flexibility and more storage space for wagons.

The six tracks slide between the loco storage tracks either side of the turntable and the wagon storage tracks at the top but include the curved portion too.  Anyone got any ideas on this, I have little experience in building fiddle yards.

Until I get this right there is not much point working on the rest of the layout.

Thanks

Raymond
Attachment: attach_711_994_birmingham_gwr_goods_New.box 361

posted: 19 Dec 2009 17:32

Jim Guthrie

United Kingdom

Raymond, 

I think you've got a problem.   The tangents at the track ends at the joins are all at different angles which would give varying degrees of dog legs if the traverser was moved away from the basic setup of all six tracks matching.    You would have to have the track breaks on a line drawn from the centre of the circles and,  to make the other end of your yard work,  that line would have to be horizontal on your plan.  I don't know if you could accommodate the shorter lengths of the yard roads.