Templot Club Archive 2007-2020                             

topic: 1857Set Any Peg Position Problem?
author remove search highlighting

posted: 2 Mar 2012 20:54

Dave Phillips

New Jersey USA

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
I'm trying to set the peg position to a user set x, y value by Geometry/Peg Positions/Set Any Peg Position and entering my desired x, y values. But the displayed peg position after entering the data is way off, almost 2X in x and y. Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong.

I'm trying to set the peg at a specific point in a plain track template where I want a curve to start. There's probably a simple way to do this that doesn't involve the peg and notch, and I'm a newbie in this area of Templot. Maybe I need to snap multiple templates together instead???

Thank you in advance.

Dave

posted: 2 Mar 2012 21:35

Dave Phillips

New Jersey USA

Ah, ha! the x,y in Set Any Peg Position are delta x, delta y from the current peg position.

Dave

posted: 2 Mar 2012 21:57

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Dave Phillips wrote:
I'm trying to set the peg position to a user set x, y value by Geometry/Peg Positions/Set Any Peg Position and entering my desired x, y values.
Hi Dave,

For setting the peg position manually, X is measured along the template from the CTRL-0 position on the template, not from the grid origin.

Y is measured from the main-side stock rail. So if you want the peg on the track centre-line you must set Y to be half the track gauge.

These dimensions are independent of any curving or slewing in the template and its position or rotation on the workpad.

If you click the ? help F2 button just below where you are entering the dimensions, this is explained in more detail.

I'm trying to set the peg at a specific point in a plain track template where I want a curve to start.
There is a much easier way to get what you want: :)