Templot Club Archive 2007-2020                             

topic: 228Challenging terminus design
author remove search highlighting

posted: 9 Nov 2007 00:31

Gordon S

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi, I'm new to Templot and have been discussing with Martin a fairly large terminus plan which is an adaptation of a CJ Freezer terminus plan published nearly 20 years ago. I've reached the grand old age of 59 and will be retiring from my job at the end of this year so will have plenty of time on my hands.  I have been a modeller for most of my life and now that my kids have all left home, I'm lucky enough to have a space available of 18' square.  The room is the converted loft space above a double garage and has been fully fitted out with a proper staircase, heating and lighting to eventually house a multi layer 00 layout.

The lower level is under construction now and will have 12 through storage roads, each about 30' long. The lower level will be about 18" below the scenic level which will allow full access to the storage roads for track cleaning and point repair etc. Joining the two levels will be a spiral at a gradient of 1:100 which takes three complete circuits of the room before emerging at the upper level. The scenic side will be mainly urban with brick cuttings and retaining walls. Period will be late '60's, ECML in the transition from steam to diesel. (Don't worry about the US stock shown in the pics!)

Progress so far is here.

railway1fa0.jpgrailway1fa0.jpg

railway2vp4.jpgrailway2vp4.jpg