topic: 29797 1/4, 5, & 3 1/2 Multi gauge track
author remove search highlighting

posted: 5 Feb 2017 21:42

Bill Vallance

MARLOW - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Hi i'm new to Templot and GIMP and have not yet downloaded the software.My question is-- Is it suitable for the larger modelling gauges? i am in the process of manufacturing turnouts for our existing ground level track. The problem i have building point work to connect between existing tracks. the GIMI seems ideal but i'm not clear if the software will cope with such a large gauge? has anyone any experience if this? i have already produced the first point and GIMP looks like a good possibility.3328_051628_350000000.jpg3328_051628_350000000.jpg
Attachment: attach_2381_2979_file1.jpeg     309

posted: 6 Feb 2017 09:47

Nigel Fisher

Tibshelf, Alfreton - United Kingdom

Bill

A friend and I have used Templot successfully at 5inch gauge for both turnouts and (as in the photo, seen during a test fit) a tandem.

Nigel Fisher
Attachment: attach_2382_2979_V__3E75.jpg     396

posted: 6 Feb 2017 11:53

Bill Vallance

MARLOW - United Kingdom

3328_060642_070000000.jpg3328_060642_070000000.jpg

Nigel Fisher wrote:

A friend and I have used Templot successfully at 5inch gauge for both turnouts and (as in the photo, seen during a test fit) a tandem.

Nigel Fisher

Nigel,

Thanks for your reply. The picture attached shows part of our layout and would be the picture I would us in the GIMP? I need to connect the straight track which is in line with the camera to the 1st curved track on the left. The track will run from were the bush is and past the top of the head shunt. Do I start in Templot and the go into GIMP or can I do it straight from GIMP?

Attachment: attach_2383_2979_file1.jpeg     287

posted: 7 Feb 2017 09:16

Nigel Fisher

Tibshelf, Alfreton - United Kingdom