topic: 3156Printer maintenance for templates
author remove search highlighting

posted: 14 Dec 2017 15:55

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
I have just been printing some templates, and noticed the rail lines were looking a bit wobbly. So I assumed my printer was wearing out.

But I thought it worth trying some of the built-in maintenance functions, such as "roller cleaning". I have never used that one before in the several years I have been using the printer. In fact I had forgotten such a function was available.

Result! :)

Rails now smooth lines again.

So next time you do some printing, a bit of "roller cleaning" first might work wonders. Especially before doing a printer calibration.

Printer is Canon MG7150.

regards,

Martin.

posted: 14 Dec 2017 18:14

Rob Manchester

Manchester - United Kingdom

Hi Martin,

Yes, I can understand that dirty rollers may cause wobbly prints. Feed rollers in printers can get contaminated with paper dust and other debris over time which causes a lack of grip on the paper. It is quite common to clean feed rollers on laser printers if they cause misfeeds due to similar substances. Rollers are usually of two basic materials- either plain or ribbed rubber - or a much harder material with a sandpaper-like surface. The first type wears smooth and grip can be restored by rubbing with platten cleaner like this :-

Platten cleaner

the second type are more usually fitted on cheaper and/or inkjet printers and a toothbrush ( not your current one :( ) can be used ( either just dry or with a solvent that leaves no deposit )if you can reach the rollers.

You can of course do as you have done if the Maintenance tools allow it.....or buy new rollers....or a new printer.

Rob

posted: 15 Dec 2017 11:19

Tony W

North Notts. - United Kingdom