author remove search highlighting

posted: 21 Oct 2020 23:37

DerekStuart

United Kingdom

click the date to link to this post
click member name to view archived images
view images in gallery view images as slides
Evening all.

I was inspired by the video here about the relaying of St. Pancras station throat, specifically where they showed the presses at the factories for bending things like turnout knuckles/ wings.
That led to me resurrecting a broken pipe bender at work... I made a rudimentary copy for bending rails and it worked (sort of). But this would only work for straight turnouts.

I am not an engineer nor mathematician, but I don't need to be- most of what we do can be copied in principle from the real railways.

My question is this- whilst this is very simple for a straight turnout, for a curve- let us say 100Xr and then a knuckle bend of 10Xr you effectively have unlimited possibilities and I cannot believe they had limitless options for presses in the factories. Yes, I know the 'big blokes with big hammers' but I'm not sure that would work here.

Does anyone know how they overcame this, please? I would like to design a simple jig that anyone can build from easy to get components.

Thanks
Derek

posted: 22 Oct 2020 00:36

Martin Wynne

West Of The Severn - United Kingdom

Hi Derek,

I've posted these diagrams before, including in your previous topic on this subject:

topic 2788

2_041828_140000000.png2_041828_140000000.png

2_041840_270000000.png2_041840_270000000.png

They could be worked up into a proper press tool with a depth stop to set the bend angle, etc., or as an attachment to a drill press.

Note the above is for vertical rail. If you want to make horizontal bends in inclined rail you need a conical mandrel, the rail must be held firmly at the inclination angle (1:20), and a lot more force. It may require the rail to be annealed at red heat first.